TEMPUS (Trans-European Mobility Program for University Studies), founded in 1990, is the European Union’s programme which supports the modernization of higher education in the EU’s surrounding area through the promotion of institutional cooperation between EU countries and partner countries in the Western Balkans, Eastern Europe, Central Asia, North Africa and Middle East. It also aims to promote voluntary convergence of the higher education systems in the Partner Countries with EU developments in the field of higher education. Tempus promotes not only the institutional cooperation, but also that of individuals in the framework of Erasmus Mundus programme.

Two main categories of activities are financed in the framework of Tempus EU Programme:

–    Joint Projects in the form of partnerships between higher education institutions in the EU and the Partner Countries, which promote which aim at the development and modernization of academic curricula, teaching materials and methods, and the enhancement of quality assurance and management of higher education institutions . Partnerships include co-operation between higher education institutions, businesses, ministries, non-governmental organizations and other organizations with higher education activities both in the European Union and partner countries.

–    Structural measures aimed at developing and reforming higher education systems and institutions in partner countries; strengthening their quality and harmonizing with developments in the European Union.

For more information on Tempus, please refer to the European Executive Agency for Education, Audiovisual and Culture of the European Commission http://eacea.ec.europa.eu/tempus/programme/about_tempus_en.php